My Blog In a minute Mom

My mother warned me that public school systems have been dumbing down our kids for years.

How do I know schools are dumbing down our kids?

I am seeing it happening firsthand. My kids are being taught a less than stellar education. They think I am being mean, or hyper critical when I edit their language arts skills, or lack thereof. My kids think I’m being unreasonable when I tell them to write coherent sentences, using complete sentences, and correct grammar. When my mother attended school many years ago, she told me she had a class size of about 40 students. The teachers were strict. Kids had to learn, or they were not allowed to pass onto the next grade. Today,  kids are passed up to the next grade, even though they can’t complete a simple sentence, and do not have any knowledge of American history.

In today’s public schools, kids are offered a myriad of learning options…

View original post 201 more words

Categories: business basics
  1. January 26, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I, too am worried about the “dumbing down” of our children from the days when I went to school (1960s-mid 1970s). But it’s a complex issue. If we apply the “old standards” to this new culture, it doesn’t seem quite fair. And, as you point out, home schooling isn’t always the solution.

    Interesting topic for debate, though…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

