if you continue the reading (read more) you can see the rants about this article as well as the arguments about it being reparations for slavery etc, I will admit I did receive benefits from the State when my children were young, I needed help, I no longer qualify for assistance, my husband is perm. disabled by an on the job injury, he is eligible for medical help, and disability, but we as a family do not qualify for any assistance, I am lucky I have a job, and I have medical ins for my son, who has been unable to get a job he’s 19. Between taxes and my portion of medical is over 30% of my gross, and I don’t qualify. I have been behind people at the grocery store that have the prime cuts, and more unhealthy foods than I have ever bought for a MONTH, let alone a couple of weeks, chips, pop, all of those lead me to believe that they have means I don’t know where from but they have more than I have in spendable cash.

Tarpon's Swamp

Should we all quit working and jump on board the Obama gravy train?  Of course I am being facetious, but when you are barely surviving does there come a point when it just becomes easier to give up and totally rely on the government?

Today, the federal government runs nearly 80 different means-tested welfare programs, and many state and local governments have their own welfare programs on top of that.  If you become an expert on those programs and you learn how to game the system, can you live more comfortably than someone that lives honestly and works as hard as they can and yet still makes less than 10 dollars an hour?

Now, right from the outset of this article, let me make it abundantly clear that I do not believe that most people are abusing the system.  As I have written about over and over, the number of…

View original post 154 more words

Categories: business basics
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

